Insomniac

And here I lay,

Another restless night,

No words to say,

As I’m tucked in tight,

 

Left with nothing but want,

For dreams and for sleep.

Bothered by the taunt,

Of a dozen prancing sheep,

 

And the darkness embraces me,

As I stare into the ceiling,

A dull black abyss,

Nonjudgmental of feeling,

 

And I realize why slumber eludes me,

Why it so desperately remains far away,

In my bed, thoughts that none can see,

Are free to come out and play,

 

So I continue to lie here,

Dancing in my dreams—wide awake,

No anger, no joy, no fear,

With no choices left to make,

 

Stuck in an endless routine,

Wanting only a wink of sleep,

Getting so sick, so tired,

Of counting sheep.

2 thoughts on “Insomniac

  1. this is such an amazing poem. I am an insomniac and how badly do I actually wanna sleep but I couldn’t is very well explained here. Apart from that, I would congratulate you for your worth read posts every time…Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

Penny For Your Thoughts?

