Blog Renovation 2: Guest Posts, Freelance Formatting, and Author Interviews

Changing some more things. The footer area in particular. I’m tired of the little corner I’ve placed there and just decided to put timelines of my social media accounts instead. At least that way it’s always changing. Also tinkering with the sidebar some and maybe I’ll change a few of the pages I have up. Maybe. My About section seems pretty old. and my main menu bar could use some cleaning.

Hmm..

Anyway, if anyone’s reading this, please be patient as the blog undergoes some tweaking. It’ll come out better. (I hope.) I’ve also decided to put up a guest post, freelance formatting, and author interview section. It’s not up yet, but I’ve committed myself to having it up by the end of the day. If any of you are interested in any of those things that I’ve just mentioned, then please feel free to reach out to me via the contact form. I may also put up a book review section, but that’s still up in the air since I don’t know how much free time I’ll have in the coming months for something as tedious as book reviews.

Now, if anyone needs me for anything else, then I’m around.

EDIT: A book formatting service section has been added. Guest post and Author Interview request instructions have been added to the contact page.

EDIT 2: Footer has been changed.

15 thoughts on “Blog Renovation 2: Guest Posts, Freelance Formatting, and Author Interviews

  1. Hey Nicholas! Your reno is coming along great. It looks good πŸ™‚ I’ve been doing book reviews and interviews for about a year now and I’d say both are worth it. I get to talk to authors and the review section helps me to keep reading πŸ˜€ Keep up the reno. I can’t wait to see the finished product.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! If there’s any advice you can offer in the book interview department that would be wonderful. As for book reviews, do you accept work by indie authors? And how do you find the time to read all of that?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Nicholas πŸ˜€ For interviews, I try to give a mix of questions. I always ask for a picture of their writing space because I love to add in images of their writing process if they have them. I also ask three tiers of questions :About them, about their latest book, and a small set of fun questions but you don’t have to do this. My main advice would be to ask questions you genuinely want to know and to allow enough time for them to return responses. I usually send out interview questions a three weeks to a month ahead of time because of how busy authors can be πŸ˜€ And yes! I review work by indie authors. I haven’t on my website but I have on Goodreads. I’m not sure how I have the time to read. I mean, I work as a freelance writer, run my blog, write my own work, and attend college at the same time. I suppose I’m able to read because I make time for it. There’s always a bit of time tucked away somewhere I can use πŸ˜€ Sorry this is long!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank youu!! I’ll keep all this in mind once I find a few people to begin interviewing. πŸ™‚ I want to do book reviews, but I’ll be starting nursing school this August and I’m afraid that I won’t be able to fit it in my schedule. Do people usually come to you asking for reviews? Or do you find them on your own and review their work once you buy a copy?

          Like

          1. A good place to start is debut authors πŸ™‚ I love talking to them and it helps support them. It’s a mix. For interviews, I normally approach them. I write a nice little email with my website details. For book reviews, it’s a mix. I’ve had authors approach me and I’ve approached them. Just last month, I approached an author for an ARC copy to review. She was nice and her publisher sent me one. I also just go to the library and pick a book to review. I buy books too but not as often. I like to do a mix of well known books with overlooked books.It’s really up to you, though. If you ever need help with approaching an author, let me know. Also, I go to Netgalley to request review copies of books. It’s a great site!
            Oh gosh. I did Nursing school for two years, so I know how busy you’ll be! I switched to Eng Lit after getting an A.S in Science. Good luck in Nursing school πŸ™‚

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I just got my AS (Nursing Track) this Summer. I finished up my final class for it. I’m going for my BSN now though. And thank you again! I’m excited, but extremely nervous at the same time. I feel like my manuscript is going to suffer a lot during these next two years… *sigh* I wish I had a clone that could write for me while I struggle through school….. And I’ll do what you suggest and try to find some debut authors. Hopefully I can find some people that would be willing to review my book in return, haha. More reviews always help. πŸ™‚ Though I’m not sure how much time I’ll be able to commit yet. I’ll probably compile a list or something first just to see how I’ll be able to fit reading everything in my schedule.

              Liked by 1 person

              1. If you can do the A.S program, you’ll do fine. I feel that way, too. I wish I could clone another writer me to write when I’m too busy. Is this the book you already finished? Or a new WIP? I finished one (querying now) and started another for NaNoWriMo for November. I’m trying to outline, hoping it will help with organization. Even 30 mins a day reading is better than nothing. Consolidating time is key – using bus rides, reading while exercising etc. Drawing out a visual schedule map is a great idea πŸ™‚

                Liked by 1 person

                1. My problem is more about cash and not the work itself. *sigh* I’ve kept a 4.0 since I’ve started college, but my tuition is so damn expensive, and I haven’t even paid for my books yet. It doesn’t help that Nursing school has so many extra fees associated with it for clinicals, insurance, uniforms, mandatory vaccinations, drug testing, etc….. The book I’m working on is actually the next in the series πŸ™‚ I’m planning it to be a tetralogy. The first draft of the second book is already done, but before I start editing the hell out of it, I want to have the third draft finished. As of right now, I’m only about 20k words into the third…. I’ve never tried NaNoWriMo, mostly because November is a busy month for me, haha…… I actually read for an hour or two every night. The thing is, I usually read japanese light novels or manga. Actually taking the time to read a book tires me out so much more for some reason. I think maybe its because I’m always checking the formatting and how the sentences are phrased in my head.

                  Like

                  1. Oh no! You have to read for fun, too, Nic! Yeah. Nursing school will rob you blind with fees for everything. Have you tried switching to reading shorter stories? They don’t take as long to finish and not nearly as much energy to read.

                    Like

                    1. I read light novels for fun. That counts, right? πŸ™‚ It depends on the short story really. I’ve found Stephen King’s short stories downright brilliant. (Though perhaps that’s to be expected.) Others, I get bored of halfway through and end up abandoning in favor of just listening to music. But if you have any suggestions for good ones, then I’m open to giving them a go. (Heads up: I’m not really into YA urban fantasy romances.)

                      Like

                    2. We’ve been reading short stories in my fiction class. I’ll admit I do read some YA but I normally don’t suggest others should. It’s kind of weird to, I think lol What kind of genres do you like? The Grown up by Gillian Flynn was super short but kept me on the edge of my chair. You might like it. The Physics of Imaginary Objects is a collection of short stories by Tina May Hall is good. I think it’s Lit Fic. My favorite short story at the moment is The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman. Have you read any of those? Stephen King’s stories are amazing.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. I haven’t! Not a single one. I’ll check all of them out later tonight! Thanks for the suggestions πŸ™‚ And I prefer NA or Adult fiction. I’m a huge epic fantasy buff, but I’m open to other genre’s as well. I like romance when it’s done well. One of my favorite novels is Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus. Her descriptions are just lovely. Otherwise, I mainly read fantasy authors like David Gaider, George RR Martin, Chris Paolini, and Tolkien.

                      Like

Penny For Your Thoughts?

